ABIHPEC – Brazilian Association of the Cosmetic, Toiletry and Perfumery Industry

History of the Entity

ABIHPEC was founded on February 16, 1995, and represents, nationally and internationally speaking, Brazilian industries and multinational industries operating in Brazil manufacturing HPPC (Personal Hygiene, Perfumery and Cosmetics) products. Its headquarters is located in São Paulo, at Avenida Paulista.

The entity and its president keep close relationships with unions representing areas alike, national authorities, national associations, international economic unions and similar associations from other countries. ABIHPEC’s work is an extension of a national character of the activities performed by Sipatesp (Union for the Industry of Perfumes & Toiletries in São Paulo). This union was founded on May 15, 1941.

The Mission of the Entity is to support, develop, stimulate and create actions and instruments in order to contribute for the progress of the HPPC industry in Brazil. Its objective is to make industries installed in the Country working with maturity, through self-regulation and credibility. It is based on the principles of ethics, proactive attitudes, manufacturer’s responsibility, respect for safety standards and support to the control of products available in the market by the government, through monitoring or inspection.


President’s Profile

João Carlos Basilio acts in the HPPC (Higiene Pessoal, Perfumaria and Cosméticos – Personal Hygiene, Perfumery and Cosmetics) sector since the 1960’s. In that period he became directing partner of Perfumaria Rastro Ltda. Today, the executive accumulates the positions of President of ABIHPEC (Associação Brasileira da Indústria de Higiene Pessoal, Perfumaria and Cosméticos – Brazilian Association of the Cosmetic, Toiletry and Fragrance Industry), a function he assumed in 1995, and President of SIPATESP (Union for the Industry of Perfumes & Toiletries in São Paulo), which he assumed in 1989, besides being the Vice-President of Ciesp (Centro das Indústrias do Estado de São Paulo – Center of Industries of the State of São Paulo) and Partner at Química Rastro Ltda.

He is also a Director of the Brazilian Society for Technological Innovation (Sociedade Brasileira Pró-Inovação Tecnológica – Protec) and the Packaging Technology Center (Centro de Tecnologia de Embalagem – CETEA). He was elected president of the Council of Associations of the Latin-American Cosmetic Industry (Conselho de Associações da Indústria Cosmética Latino-Americana – CASIC) in 2006.

He participated as a Member of the Board in the Associação de Comércio Exterior do Brasil (Brazilian Foreign Trade Association); Member of the Ethics Council of the Brazilian Beverage Association (Associação Brasileira de Bebidas – ABRABE), Member of the Board of IDEA/Brasil (International Design Excellence Award).

In 2001, he was chosen to integrate the FÓRUM DOS LÍDERES SETORIAIS (SECTORIAL LEADER FORUM) in an election organized by newspaper “A Gazeta Mercantil”. As a result of his great knowledge of the area in which he acts, he is constantly invited by bodies and associations related to national entities to give lectures and make presentations on the Brazilian market, both here in Brazil as well as abroad.




The election for ABIHPEC’s new Board of Directors for 2011-2015 took place on June 30, 2011.

The new Board of Directors took office on July 12, 2011 with the following members:

for 2011 – 2015


President – João Carlos Basilio da Silva – Rastro

1st Vice-President – Rodolfo Witzig Guttilla – Natura

2nd Vice-President – Artur Noemio Grynbaum – Grupo Boticário

3rd Vice-President – Jucimar Pereira Dos Santos – L’Oréal

4th Vice-President – Luis Carlos Galvão – Unilever

5th Vice-President – Gabriela Onofre Editore – P&G

6th Vice-President – Ricardo Alves Bastos – Johnson & Johnson

7th Vice-President – Luiz Heitor Schreiner Mayer – Colgate-Palmolive

General Secretary – Silvio Tadeu Agostinho – Hypermarca

1st Secretary – Marco Antonio Iszlaji – Kimberly-Clark Brasil

2nd Secretary – Paulo Cesar Velloso Quaglia – Avon

3rd Secretary – Ricardo Basque – BDF-Nívea

4th Secretary – Lásaro Do Carmo Junior – Jequiti

5th Secretary – Anna Chaia – L’Occitane

General Treasurer – Luiz Carlos Cavalcanti Dutra Junior – Unilever

1st Treasurer Jaime Teixeira Drummond – Mahogany

2nd Treasurer Flávio Leal – Gojo

3rd Treasurer José Geraldo Ferreira Junior – Perfumaria Márcia


Permanent Members

Antônio Eustáquio Mesquita – L’Acqua di Fiori

Flávio Fiusa Kakimoto – Reckitt Benckiser

Rodrigo Rocha – Elza Indústria


Claudio Viggiani – Firmenich

Flávia Alvim Sant´Anna Addor – Medcin

Artur João Gradim – Avisa

Abihpec © Copyright 2015 | desenvolvido por